Natur & Technik

Kooperationsmeldung

Formation of a New Scholarly Society to Study Antisemitism

13.06.2018

Scholars and policymakers who assembled in Vienna at the recent conference An End to Antisemitism! unanimously approved the proposal to form a new international academic society, to be called the International Organization for Antisemitism Research (IOAR). This society will be devoted to the interdisciplinary study of the phenomenon of antisemitism throughout its history and in its various manifestations as well as to scholarly and scientific research aimed at developing strategies to fight antisemitism. It hopes to encourage scholarly interchange and research, theoretical and applied, to deepen our understanding of this phenomenon. The society hopes to hold conferences and foster scholarship as well as to promote the interchange of ideas between academic researchers and policymakers.

Professor Jehuda Reinharz, former president of Brandeis University and president of the Mandel Foundation, has agreed to serve as President and members of the founding board are Professors Catherine Chatterley of the University of Manitoba, Armin Lange of the University of Vienna, Dina Porat of Tel Aviv University, Alvin Rosenfeld of the University of Indiana, Lawrence H. Schiffman of New York University, Monika Schwarz-Friesel of the Technical University of Berlin, and Mr. Mark Weitzman of the Simon Wiesenthal Center and the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance.

The board will soon begin the process of constructing bylaws and setting up an administrative office. It is expected that within a few months membership criteria will be announced and plans will be made for the IOAR's first international conference.

For information, please contact:

• Catherine D. Chatterley, University of Manitoba, catherine.chatterley@umanitoba.ca

• Armin Lange, University of Vienna: armin.lange@univie.ac.at, +43 664 60277 43313

• Dina Porat, Tel Aviv University: porat@post.tau.ac.il

• Alvin Rosenfeld, Indiana University: rosenfel@indiana.edu

• Lawrence H. Schiffman, New York University: lawrence.schiffman@nyu.edu

• Monika Schwarz-Friesel, Technical University of Berlin: monika.schwarz-friesel@tu-berlin.de

• Mark Weitzman, Simon Wiesenthal Center and International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance: mweitzman@wiesenthal.com

The administrative center of the society will be housed at Tel Aviv University's Kantor Center for the Study of European Jewry. For administrative matters and membership information please contact Dr. Giovanni Quer at giovanni.quer@gmail.com.

Scientific contact:
Armin Lange
Department of Jewish Studies
University of Vienna
1090 Vienna, Spitalgasse 2
T +43-1-4277-433 19
M +43-664-602 77-433 13
armin.lange@univie.ac.at
Press contact:
Alexandra Frey
Press Office of the University of Vienna
Research and teaching
1010 Vienna, Universitätsring 1
T +43-1-4277-175 33
M +43-664-602 77-175 33
alexandra.frey@univie.ac.at
STICHWÖRTER
Wien  | Forschung  | Wissenschaft  | Gesellschaft  | Antisemitismus  |
Weitere Meldungen aus Natur & Technik
APA
Partnermeldung